I used to be a blogger.

Standard

I did. I blogged all the time. I was semi-consistent. And then a couple of years ago I was contacted by someone who had a potential claim that my blog title violated her copyright. I immediately assumed I’d be switching names. She was checking with her lawyer for goodness sake. I was just writing because I liked to, and it kept me from going nuts while staying home with a toddler and preschooler. You don’t exactly hire a lawyer for that. So I started to explore some other blog name options. And I actually got kind of excited about the idea of a fresh start. I felt like I’d gotten in a groove, but I didn’t feel like my groove necessarily went with what I’d started.

And then? Then I never heard back from her. So…now what? Do I change it anyway? Keep going even though it doesn’t feel right? Things got away from me for a bit. I had plenty to write about, composed a million blogs in my head, but rarely actually posted anything. But I missed the writing. And I spent the better part of a year trying to pinpoint how I’d lost my groove.

Which brings me to this. My shiny new blog. With a shiny new name. On a shiny new (to me) blog server place. A fresh, fresh, fresh start. I hope.

What can you expect from all this shiny? I’m hoping a little more of everything, which is where my new title comes in. For the record, I wanted just “32flavors” and it’s no longer in use, but apparently WordPress doesn’t release a blog after it’s been blogged. 32 Flavors is an Ani Difranco song, also covered by Alana Davis. I like to think of it as kind of a modern day “I’m a woman, W-O-M-A-N” song. “I am beyond your peripheral vision, so you might want to turn your head.” “I am a poster girl with no poster, I am 32 flavors and then some.” So I felt that there are a lot of things I’d like to talk about. Maybe even 32. I’m not going to commit. And I feel like this helps me to give myself the freedom to do that.

Incidentally, back when I met the Husband (is he Captain America here? I don’t know yet), I was deeply, DEEPLY in an Ani Difranco phase. Just soaking up everything she wrote. But then I met Husband and was starting to hang out with a lot of Christians from one of the groups on our college campus. For some reason, I felt I should probably keep my Ani love on the DL. I was nervous and new at this whole Christian thing. It’d been a matter of days – I wasn’t committing myself to it yet. And I had a misconceived notion or two. Or ten. So Husband is a huge lover of music, and wanted me to listen to a few things. I’m pretty sure we weren’t even dating yet (which is saying something, because we dated after one week of meeting). Anyway, he introduced me to CAKE. That was fun. And then he sticks in a cd and says, “I just want you to listen to this song…” AND IT WAS ANI DIFRANCO. I love you, and I will marry you…

In any case, welcome to the shiny new place. We’ll be under construction for a bit whilst I figure out how the heck WordPress works and get used to my new digs. So I apologize if things look different every time you stop by. Although, you’re probably using google reader or something, so you won’t notice a thing anyway. And that’s assuming there is a “you” out there reading. Let’s pretend for now! Thanks!

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

