Thanksgiving: Part 2

Standard

I have just detailed out the rest of our Thanksgiving trip and erased it. How dull for you. We had a lovely Thanksgiving. It was nice to see our families and be away from home for a while.

I did learn a valuable Black Friday lesson: if you want it, go get it. I hemmed and hawed over a lovely, warm pair of Emu boots at Herbergers. They were a really great deal, but I didn’t want to drive there by myself at midnight to get them. Instead in the morning I ordered them online for the same price. And later, at 2 pm, I went to Herbergers and they still had a pair in my size. Now, the deal was over, but I could have waltzed in there at 10 am and gotten the boots. Now I sit here with cold toes, at the mercy of UPS tracking. Ok, that’s not true. I have my Smartwool socks on, so my toes aren’t that cold. And I have last year’s Emus. And the boots have finally made their way to Illinois. This is a First World Problem at its finest. So really, I’m just sitting here in my warm house, with outside temps still only in the 30s (it could be MUCH worse), with fancy socks, whining about boots on my computer. The computer I use to work from home. So I just wear the boots in the car to pick up my kids from school. Waaaaah.

I guess I’ve just decided that some year, I’d really like to do some Black Friday shopping. And the whole midnight thing actually makes it more appealing to me. I’d rather just stay up and go do some shopping than get up at 4 am. I am not a morning person in the least. I will not, however, be going to a large W-named retailer. I like a little festive chaos, but I don’t need to be shot or pepper sprayed.

I just have a tough time reconciling my enjoyment of a holiday shopping crowd, and my wish for Christmas to not be about stuff. I’m still working on that. I’ll let you know how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

