Goals for 2012

Standard
  • We survived break! Oddly, it was the girls who were ready to go back to school because they missed their friends & teachers. I could have had them home for a couple more days. I’ll bet that wouldn’t have been true in real life, though, so it was nice to go out wishing it’d been longer. I think Monday was the best day. We’d had a week of visitors. It was fun to see everyone, and it really kept the girls from getting bored. I hadn’t had to work much, so I was able to spend time with everybody. We spent some of the weekend getting everything back in order. As in order as it gets here. Then on Monday, we had nothing to do. Nothing. Captain America had the day off. I didn’t even need to go to the grocery store. I made pancakes and sausage for breakfast. There was a lot of playing with new toys. And then the older girls and I played Life and Monopoly. Dinner was in the crockpot. So I think what I liked about it was having all of us home. Goal #1 for 2012: Win the lottery.
  • Yesterday I took all three kids to Toys R Us to get a birthday present for Ella’s friend. It started like this. Ella: “I want to get her something REALLY special. I don’t care what it costs. Even if it’s FIFTY dollars. She’s my very best friend.” Me: “Ok. Well that’s really sweet, honey. But you have $XX to spend.” Ella: “Mom? I just want to say that parents get really cheap after Christmas.” Yes, I suppose they do. Nevermind the fact that it’s the same friend birthday budget I always give. The trip ended with Zoey screaming and crying so loudly that my ears actually rang for a bit. Goal #2 for 2012: Survive parenting a pre-pre-teen. Goal #3 for 2012: Make Zoey like shopping.
  • Zoey uses one word with consistency. “Bot.” She asks for a bottle all day long. Even though at her last doctor’s appointment the doctor said to try and get her off the bottle completely by 18 months. She is 15 1/2. She’s mostly down to just pre-nap (there is just one nap) and pre-bed, but sometimes there’s a late afternoon fit that I just don’t have the energy to fight and a bottle seems to make everyone happy. Goal #4 for 2012: Get Zoey off bottles, sometime this year. Or decade. May she not take a “bot” to kindergarten. And may I pay less attention to the over-achieving mommies whose babies already read and do algebra.

Goal #5 for 2012: Make more realistic goals.

Leave a Reply

