Spinning: Dreams

Standard

Another carnival! This one I’m pretty excited about. It’s basically a weekly writing assignment. You know how I love to be random – it will be good for me to try and focus more. To focus at all. Gretchen over at Second Blooming is new to hosting it, and I have no doubt she will do a fabulous job. This week’s Spin Cycle is….dreams!

I have always done a lot of dreaming. I used to be a sleepwalker and talker. From what I’ve heard, I could dedicate a whole other post to that, but I’m not considering it dreaming. Alright, fine, legend has it when I was a small girl I once chased the cat with a knife while sleepwalking. I can neither confirm or deny it because I was asleep. I’ve just heard the story. Though I’ve left that behind, I’m always having some kind of dream. I’d say I have three dream categories: recurring, vivid, and mundane. I don’t think those are real dream terms. That’s just what I’m calling them.

The recurring. My recurring dream is a tornado. The setting changes. The characters change. But there is always a tornado and I am always trying to get myself and a handful of people to safety. Usually at some point I see the tornado. I must wake up around impact, because there is never post-tornado in my dream. Sometimes I have to find my kids. Sometimes it’s a group of people I don’t know. I never get to the point where I know if I was successful in getting everyone to safety. Now, I haven’t spent a lot of time on analysis, but I think it’s safe to say it’s a stress dream.

The vivid. Oh my goodness. Do you have these? It’s so very real that I wake up completely unsure of if it’s happened. And it’s something reasonable. I mean, I’m not talking about aliens landing and electing me their leader. It’s maybe a conversation with someone, or going somewhere. I might go somewhere in the dream, and then months later I’m not sure if it’s a place I’ve really been or a place I went in a dream. I once had a dream where someone said something completely out of line (not the first time), and it was the last straw for me. I went on an incredible tirade. It was so real that when I woke up, I was still angry. I wasn’t sure if I’d really said it. I wasn’t sure if that person had really said those things. At the very least, I didn’t know if I’d been yelling in my sleep. It honestly took me weeks to calm down about it. In real life, I ended up having a hard time talking to that person, because I felt like it had all happened. I don’t like these dreams. I don’t like having my head messed with.

Mundane. Average, run of the mill dreams. I’m still in high school, but I’m married to Captain America and have all of my kids. I’m at my parents’ house, but it’s not my parents’ house. People in my life are in places or times they don’t really belong. Places aren’t quite right. These dreams aren’t particularly interesting to me after I wake up, or even while I’m having them. But it’s probably the majority of my dreams.

Oddly, I don’t think I dream about my kids much. I mean, sometimes in my dreams I know I have kids, and I know they’re my real life kids, but I don’t actually see them in the dream. What does that mean? I’m not sure I want to know. It probably makes me a bad mother somehow. Let’s not analyze it.

Do you remember your dreams? You’re still thinking about the cat thing, aren’t you? I don’t blame you. It’s unnerving.

14 responses »

  1. I completely identify with ALL of this! I think the tornado dream, or something like it, is pretty typical for mothers – desperate to take care of everyone, never really finishing the task, never feeling like you have everybody safe. Jimmy has those vivid dreams. He once woke up absolutely positive that I had had an affair. It took him days to get over it, and for me to convince him that it hadn’t happened. And I kind of think that not dreaming about your kids is okay. I think we probably work out problems in our dreams, and if you aren’t feeling troubled about the kids, you don’t dream about them. Thanks SO much for joining the fun!

    You’re all linked up!

  2. I’m in exactly the same boat, especially with the mundane dreams. Wrong places that I “know,” people I know but shouldn’t, almost never any kids, my husband isn’t really him, and doing odd things like searching through a giant field of 8″ tall houses, because it’s imperative we see if anyone’s home.

    Can’t wait to read more spins!!

  3. Oh, and I was a sleepwalker and talker, too. I would have whole conversations with people. I decided to save those stories for a post of their own. Hooray – more blog fodder!

  4. Ooh, a tornado dream would freak me out. I grew up in the midwest and am living there again and now I have no basement, which always worries me during tornado season!

    Great spin!

  5. My sister insisted that I went to the bathroom down the basement steps. She said I was dreaming and probably thought that the layout was the same as our old house that we recently moved from. Thinking back on the layout of the old house I know that it makes no sense, especially since the bathroom door was open, and the basement door was shut.

  6. I don’t have a recurring dream but I definitely have the mundane dreams and the vivid dreams. And that is hilarious about the cat. I am a sleep-talker and my husband always like to remind me of the time when I woke up talking to him about how much I like rain. Great spin!

Leave a Reply

