Lunch dates

Standard

This weekend I took each of the older girls out for a lunch date, on their own. Followed by 3 hours of shopping. Each. I am exhausted. It’s something I’d been wanting to do for a while, and on Friday night when Ella asked if we could play Life, just us, on Saturday, it seemed like a good time.

Ella chose Perkins because she has a thing for the rainbow pancakes. But when I reminded her that she’s usually still hungry when she’s done, she opted for chicken fingers. She was carefully planning her meal around a possible milkshake at the mall later. I told her now was a good time to talk about things she didn’t want to talk about around Natalie or Daddy. She seemed very interested in that. I’m constantly expecting her to hit that time in school when the girls all get mean, so I fished a little. “If you could change one thing about school, what would it be?” Friends? Mean boys? A class she didn’t like? “I’d want a hot tub.” Well, sure. Let’s get one at home while we’re at it. She also made her usual request for her own room. After lunch, we wandered around the mall for a bit, and then hit the DQ/Orange Julius for a pick me up. She picked out a new clearance rack outift at Crazy 8. She drooled over all the stuff at Justice and Claire’s. We had a lovely time.

Natalie chose TGI Friday’s because of the side options. She liked that she could get a fruit cup. And she wanted the Strawberry Lemonade Slushy, because “I can’t have that at home.” She was pretty chatty, even saying, “This is nice, because when Ella’s around I don’t usually get to talk.” She was really excited about all the things around us, and did a lot of “what if” talking. After lunch we went to the mall, and she was much more interested in clothes shopping than her sister. She found a few things she liked. We agonized over earring sets to replace her starters. It ended in a stalemate. The ones I wanted to get were too boring. The ones she wanted were too big. I suggested maybe we should go to the Starbucks in Barnes and Noble for a hot chocolate, but she said no, she could have hot chocolate at home. She wanted to try a milkshake. It was her date, so I didn’t argue about how much better Starbucks hot chocolate is than what I make at home. So it was back to DQ, two days in a row. On our way out through Barnes and Noble, she saw all kinds of books she wanted to get, and she mentioned she’d like to read a book together again.

Those girls are so different one on one. I’m thinking I’d really like to make this a habit. It was especially nice to spend some time with them without having to stop them mid-sentance to say, “I have to change Zoey’s diaper.” It was nice not to be in a hurry to get home. It was fun to see their different interests. The things they wanted to shop for. The things they wanted to talk about. They are so different. And I could really see their ages. Ella seems so old. And Natalie is losing that little kid look.

I’ve been paranoid about having teenage girls since before I ever got pregnant. And now I’ll go through it THREE TIMES. I just want to do everything I can so that they’ll feel like they can talk to me through all the emotional drama the teen years can be. I feel like this is a good start.

Captain America wants to know when Zoey’s date is. I reminded him that she sleeps through lunch. Dinner then? Yeah. Maybe in 3 years. Maybe when she can go through Target without torturing everyone with her blood curdling scream.

Leave a Reply

