End of school year gratitude

Standard

Today is the last full day of school. While I’m excited to stay in our jammies longer in the mornings, I’m sure I’ll be needing more grateful lists once the bickering starts. Which will probably be tomorrow afternoon.

So today I am thankful for:

  • John Mayer’s new Born & Raised album. LOVE.
  • A new freezer in my basement, which means the old one can move out of my garage so that all of the bikes and strollers actually fit WITH ROOM FOR THE CARS.
  • Another year of really great teachers, at a school we love. We have been ridiculously blessed in the teacher department every year so far. It was sweet to hear what my girls wanted to get them to say thank you. Ella thought her teacher should get a PetSmart gift card, and some bottled Starbucks Frappuccinos. “She drinks one every day!” “With a PetSmart card, she could get some treats for her dog, Joy!” Natalie thought her teacher should get a Target card. Well. Who can argue with that? I mean, who WOULDN’T want a Target gift card? For a strange coincidence, both of the girls’ teachers are retiring this year. Which means they’ve spent the last month or so sending random things from their rooms home with the kids. While I haven’t been too pleased about some of it (more stuff to litter the bedroom floor), they’ve also come home with stacks of books. Books I hope they read.
  • A molting hermit crab. The alternative is that she was dead. Instead, she molted. Hermit crabs don’t molt like snakes. It’s not a thin, clear skin where you say, “Ah, it molted.” No, it loses its entire exoskeleton. So it looks like the hermit crab died. Only there’s still a tiny pink crab inside the shell. After a hermit crab molts, it eats the old exoskeleton to get enough calcium to make the new skin. I think Captain America is rethinking his stance on a dog.
  • Sunshine.
  • Summer reading program at the library. I like the actual program well enough, but my favorite thing is the book log. Fill it up with books you’ve read all summer long, and get little prizes every week. At the end of the summer, use your tickets to buy a bigger prize. It’s all it takes to keep my kids reading. And this year, it will force Ella to read more challenging books, which I’ve been trying to accomplish for years. They have different logs for different reading levels. This year I got her the one where the books need to be at least 100 pages. She’s been reading chapter books, but they’re pretty easy. She’ll sometimes read a couple a day. So I’m excited that it will be a tiny bit more challenging.
  • Zoey’s improved shopping skills. Instead of screaming bloody murder the whole time getting groceries today, she kept giving me hugs and greeting everyone we saw. “Hi! How’re you?!” “Bye!” It was fantastic, until she got bored at the end and started taking things out of the cart, asking, “Called?” and then throwing them back in the cart. I had to make a pit stop to move all the bread to underneath the cart, so it wouldn’t be squished. She was a little enthusiastic in her toss back.
  • Only one lunch left to pack. Special thanks to the fine people at Smuckers for making Uncrustables. Without them, I would have lost my mind spreading PB&J at 8:05 every morning.
One response »

  1. What a good idea, to post a gratitude list! I need to remember to be thankful! I want your summer reading list. I’m guessing that the library here has some sort of summer reading club too, but I don’t know if I’ll get Jude to join. I don’t think I’ll be getting a pet hermit crab anytime soon!

Leave a Reply

