RTT: Happiness

Standard

Here’s a few random things that make me all kinds of happy:

  • Driving 3 hours one way to celebrate the 15th anniversary of good friends, and then driving home. Let me tell you something, when your pre-teen goddaughter calls to invite you to a surprise party for her parents, you just say yes. Captain America is running the soundboard at our church until Jesus returns, so he wasn’t able to come with us. But I’ll be darned if I didn’t load up 3 rock star travelers and have a great day. Sure, we had to stop 3 times on the way home, but we weren’t in a hurry. Sure, the baby missed her nap until we were 30 minutes from home, but she did remarkably well. I mean, for a toddler, she did fantastic. It was such a fun day, and gave me hope that we can travel and do things again.
  • One of the best parts about leaving town is coming home. There’s a several mile descent through the river bluffs into town, with a view of the Mississippi (and several rivers that join it here). The sun was just starting to lower behind us, giving everything a yellowy glow, and it was gorgeous. Then we cross the bridge over all those rivers from Minnesota to Wisconsin. You know something crazy? I have always had an amazing drive home. My hometown of Lake Wobegon has a beautiful downhill drive in, overlooking Minnesota’s 13th largest lake. I lived in Duluth, which has a similar downhill drive into town, overlooking Lake Superior, the canal, and the lift bridge. I don’t think I could live in a town that you just drive into. It needs to be sort of majestic. A feeling of arrival and welcome. That’s what feels like “home” to me.
  • My little readers. I can’t tell you how many times I start hunting around the house for Zoey, only to find her sitting in the rocking chair in her room with a book in her lap. The older two love the library, and always want to bring home stacks of books.
  • Coffee. I recently discovered that it’s espresso that makes me feel sick, not any coffee. So some days I’ve been having a cup of plain old coffee with a yummy chocolate caramel creamer. I make it in a sad little coffee pot I found in my mom’s garage. I feel like a college student. But it tastes good, and I don’t feel bad.
  • Libraries. This summer is all about the library, and it does not hurt my feelings one bit to wander around looking at all the books and wishing I had no job. I like to look at the cookbooks. The travel books. New novels. I like to just see what book’s spine jumps out at me. I like to load up on books for the girls that they will never agree to read, and think about what I can hold over their heads to MAKE them read them.
  • Friends. I have great friends. People I love spending time with, and who make me laugh. New friends who I have so much fun getting to know. Old friends with millions of memories, who always know what I mean. Friends who I may never see anymore, but always seem to know just when it’s time to send me a note. I’ve been incredibly blessed in the friend department.

Now I feel all happy just having written about it. If you’re looking for more random, head over to Stacy’s.

4 responses »

  1. Ahhhhhhh, the library! Why aren’t my children learning what they live and loving reading books like their mom!? They do like to collect them though! Such a happy post here!

  2. It was fun to see you and the girls on Sunday – easily the greatest surprise to April and I. Please pass along a “RROOAARRR!” to Zoey for me! 🙂

  3. I SO envy your drive home! Here, the drive home always involved a nasty series of freeways – the 405 to the 10 to the 101. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

