The Plague – Mostly an Ending

Standard

Did I ever tell you what happened with the plague?I don’t think so. I’m sure you’re all just dying to find out.

After two trips to the clinic, I was on an inhaler, codeine cough syrup, an antibiotic, and an expectorant. To no avail. A couple days before The Big Trip, I had the biggest, scariest coughing attack I’d ever had in my life. I’ll spare you the gory details, but suffice to say that Ella knocked on the bathroom door to see if I was ok, and I was coughing so hard I couldn’t even respond. I guess I don’t remember anymore if it was the same day or the next day that I headed into Urgent Care. This was getting ridiculous. “So much dripping,” I said. “I can’t help but cough. I feel like if it didn’t drip, I’d be fine.” “Allergies!” the doctor said. I’d like to point out that I gave him the same information I gave all the people I saw. “We’re going to knock them right out of you,” he said. I left with a string of prescriptions.

A couple days later, I packed up my portable pharmacy and headed for the mountains. I was on the codeine cough syrup, the inhaler, Flo-nase, Afrin, and Zyrtec D. He actually said I could also take regular Zyrtec. So much medicine! But you know what? Between that and the mountain air, I felt pretty good. For the first time in a really long time.

I’m still on some of it, but I’ve managed to drop some, too. Unfortunately, these last couple of days have been allergy torture around here, and even with all that I’m having a little trouble. Thankfully, nowhere near how bad it was before. Hooray for modern medicine!

Leave a Reply

