RTT: Oh Tuesday. You’re so random.

Standard

I tried a new shampoo and conditioner today. I’d been perfectly happy with my previous ones, but it seems my scalp might not be happy with them anymore. We’ll see how it goes.

Yesterday I went to the gym. I don’t usually. Just sometimes I get in a mood when  my pants don’t fit, and I go. After a few trips, someone usually gets sick (me or a child), and I stop going. But I went yesterday. I think my favorite thing about the gym is eavesdropping in the locker room. I mean, it’s hard not to hear people. People are having loud conversations, and I’m by myself having no conversation. Yesterday two sweet little old ladies were talking about banking. One of them said she didn’t use a certain bank anymore, because it was somehow affiliated with our governor here in Wisconsin. I don’t know how much people outside of Wisconsin know about him, but he got rid of unions (among other things). You either love that or hate it. It’s been pretty polarizing. My point is, I love liberal little old ladies. Because it’s unexpected. I get a kick out of unexpected. A couple weeks ago I heard one say, “Did you make it to the social justice meeting last week?” I don’t know. There’s just something about getting to that point in your life, knowing what the sum of your experiences has taught you, and feeling called to action. I want to be a spunky, sure of myself little old lady when I grow up.

Random question: How do you handle a friend of your child’s that seems to be a bad influence? Nothing major. Yet. I’m just getting some unwelcome attitude, and I feel like it’s related to the excessive amount of time she spends with a certain individual. I mean, how do you balance, “You should be nice and friendly with everyone” and “Stop hanging out with this girl because you’re becoming a snot?” I’m not saying she’s a bad person. I’m saying the combination of their personalities is kind of a recipe for trouble. Oh the mothering of girls – it is not for the feint of heart. I have it three times over. Pardon me while I go back to bed. Wake me up when high school is over. When is that? 2029? Oh good gracious.

Recently a local news anchor received an email that basically said it should be her community responsibility to be a good role model to young girls, and she was failing. Because of her weight. I believe bullying is a learned behavior, and I think we need to be incredibly careful what’s said around our children. Our words and attitudes can easily be copied or misconstrued into something ugly really fast. This woman responded on her news show today in a way I applaud. I want to teach my girls to be kind. And I also want them to know their self worth should not be made of what other people say. Please click here to watch for yourself. Bravo, Jennifer!

My friend Matt wrote a book. While being a devoted father and pastor. You know, just so at the next reunion he can be all, “What have YOU been doing?” I kid. It’s a fiction book about politics. The main premise is that a governor running for president asks his opponent to be the vice president if he wins. You know, like it was at the beginning. It’s called “Running Mate,” and I think you should check it out. I haven’t read it yet, because mine’s in the mail. But I did read the first few pages on Amazon, and it easily hooked me. And I don’t usually get interested in politically themed books. Such an interesting idea, and I wish him the best. He’s a good writer, born from good writers. His dad is also in the Minnesota House of Representatives. I’d love to see his book really take off, spark a new political discussion (couldn’t we use a NEW political discussion??) and then I can say, “Ah, yes. Matt. I knew him when. I knew him when he dribbled or carried a basketball to every single class.

It was not my intention to have brought up politics at all, let alone in two different randoms. I usually try to avoid it like the plague. I like things that bring us together, not things that cause division. Like pumpkin. Pumpkin lattes. Pumpkin muffins. Pumpkin blizzards from Dairy Queen. It’s the most wonderful time of the year!

Ok, two more political things. The first, a prayer my cousin Josh posted on Facebook that I love: “Lord, in the weeks to come I will be tempted to embrace ideas about the people who oppose me politically that are not accurate and not fair. Help me resist the temptation to believe that others seek a lesser world rather than a better one. Help me to remember that, though we may have different ideas about how to achieve them, they are motivated by the same values of human dignity, justice, and benevolence. Though they might oppose me in this small realm we are not truly opponents but allies. We are not enemies but friends. Amen.” Then a Facebook status from Captain America: “As more and more political posts fly, I must state for the record that as a person of faith, I believe that political affiliation isn’t a core component of being a Christian. Christians are people who follow Jesus, not a political party – and those who say all Christians should vote a certain way all the time are dabbling in bad theology.” I think they go together. But please, let’s not talk about actual politics.

Pumpkin pie. Pumpkin cake. Pumpkin custard. Pumpkin pie apple dip. Pumpkin cookies. Pumpkin oatmeal.

If this wasn’t random enough for you, you could stop by Stacy’s.

3 responses »

  1. Wait – pumpkin pie apple dip? I need to know more! You know, like a recipe or something. 😉

    Little old ladies – and little old men – are such a treat, aren’t they? They tell it like it is. Love them!

    Princess Nagger has a ‘friend’ who has the same effect (or is that affect? I’m too lazy to look it up) in the attitude department. Luckily the girl isn’t in her class – and is no longer on her bus – so the play dates have stopped…and the attitude has diminished. I did have a chat with that girl when she was here one day, and told her that she needed to follow the rules of my house while here, or she wasn’t welcome to come over any more. Now that I think about it, she hasn’t been over here since… 😉

    Yay for your basketball dribbling friend Matt! Are you going to have him autograph your copy of his book? 🙂

    Crazy Christmas in September, Maytag and Oster Rock, and a Pessimistic Princess Nagger

    • I saw some kind of pumpkin/cool whip apple dip thing on Pinterest. If I ever make it, I will totally post the recipe.
      Unfortunately, the Friend in Question lives extremely close by. AND is in the same class. I think the Girl and I will have to have a talk about it.
      Matt had a book signing in my hometown, and I sent my mom so I could get a signed copy. It’d be silly not to.

  2. Oh, God. Thank you for Sarah and ML and Captain America and Big Daddy and Josh and his brothers and Matt — and all those young (?) people like them who are our future

Leave a Reply

