Welcome, 2014.

Standard

I love new years and quiet reflections and hopes and dreams for the future. Today I will probably go through last year’s calendar and transfer what needs to be transferred to a new one. An old fashioned, paper appointment book. My iPhone has all kinds of exciting options, but I still like to stick a paper calendar right in front of my face all day. I often use both. It seems to take a lot to keep me on track. And as I go through my old calendar, I’ll come across my goals for 2013 – that I haven’t looked at since this time last year. I hope I got lucky on some of them.

I spent the Christmas break sleeping in and reading books and drinking hot beverages. In sweatpants. For the time being, we have given up trying to travel at Christmas (setting out on a 5 hour journey in -26 temps will do that to you). Sometimes the grandmas and grandpas come to us, which they did this year. Overall, it just makes Christmas laid back and lovely. We’re moving in the direction of tradition on Christmas Eve by having our good friends over for appetizers and Christmas movies. Christmas Day is orange rolls and Christmas stockings and slowly opening gifts one by one. Everyone takes the gifts they’re giving, and then hands them to the person receiving it right before they open it. It makes for a lot of nice moments. We had Captain America’s parents here for Christmas, and my parents here for New Year’s. The staggered visits work incredibly well for keeping kids entertained throughout the break. There was a lot of cocoa with marshmallows and games and playing with sisters. And then it got too cold to go outside, and it was time to go back to school.

The whole season left me feeling full in every way. Good food, good company, good times. I feel like I have too much stuff. I feel like I have the most amazing little family. I feel like I don’t really need to eat again til February. It’s a time of reflection on the year, but also on life. I know we’re supposed to make specific goals for resolutions, but I don’t like that. I like to pick a few things to focus on.

For 2014:

  • Gratefulness
  • Relationships (new and old, near and far, with God and humans)
  • Fitness
  • Creativity

I’d rather not be specific, because circumstances change and ebb and flow. So at the end of the year, I’d just like to be able to say I’m more grateful than I was last year. That I’ve nurtured important relationships. That I’m more fit than today. That I’ve done some things to be creative. I don’t need to run a marathon or write a book. But why rule it out? Ok, I can probably rule out the marathon. But another 5K would be good. And maybe more blogging. More quality time with my kids as individuals. More quality time with Captain America. And most importantly, I want to be in a constant state of thanksgiving, because God is so good, and there is MUCH for which I can be grateful.

Happy New Year, Friend!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

