Coffee. More please.

Standard

I was not a coffee drinker. I enjoy a fru fru latté, but they have always given me a terrible stomachache and/or migraine. I really love the smell of coffee. I love the taste of coffee. It just hasn’t loved me. Tea has always been a love of mine, and that’s where I’ve always held my coffee shop ground – with a chai latté.

But I have not slept for weeks. Zoey’s been enjoying wandering around the house at all hours. Once, she just walked into our room and turned the light on at 3:15 am. Lately, she’s been heading out to the living room where she’s tall enough to see out a window to check and see if it’s morning. Then she comes to our room to either tell us it’s morning, or say that it’s not and she’d like to go back to bed. Yes. Sometimes my 3 yr old wakes me up to say she’d like to sleep. The “Ok to Wake” alarm clock is on the UPS truck.

Now, my little peanut is sick. When Zoey gets a cold, it hits her like a semi truck. She coughs. She coughs some more. Sometimes she coughs til she throws up. It’s created quite a panic system in me. I hear one little cough and I leap out of bed for her room, “Drink some water! Drink some water! Calm the cough down! Mommy doesn’t want to do laundry right now!” That’s what I was doing last night at 3:30 when I discovered she had a fever of 101.5. And then she coughed til she threw up a little anyway. The good new is that after that, she’s usually pretty good for the rest of the night. Only last night I was so worried about the fever part, I could not for the life of me get back to sleep.

Enter, coffee. I got a Keurig for Christmas. I envisioned it as an occasional cup of coffee. Something to serve my guests who are coffee drinkers. It turns out, regular coffee seems ok for me – it must be espresso that hates me. I think it was that time in high school when I got an espresso maker and started downing espresso shots to wash down giant pixy sticks. Now I’m drooling over 24 k-cup boxes. In these weeks of not sleeping, I’m thinking about my coffee as early as the night before. I know a nap isn’t going to happen. Going to bed early is iffy. But the coffee is a done deal. Girl Scout Cookie creamer? Don’t mind if I do. Bailey’s Irish Creme creamer? Got that, too. Vanilla Heat? You bet. Caramel Machiatto? I think I have a creamer problem. Hi. My name is Sarah. And I buy coffee creamer.

So far, I’ve managed to keep it to a cup a day habit. But on a day like today? Well. I barely know my own name. And I’m quite sure I don’t know how old I am. We’ll see.

And now, a haiku for my dear friend Coffee.

Coffee, I love you.

I’m glad we’re together now.

You are there for me.

Leave a Reply

